DIY Vintage Minimalist Pot

How to turn a rusty, vintage coffee can into a minimalist, gold flower pot.

My poor Aloe Vera plant has been sitting in it’s little, plastic pot for months while I tried to find a neat, inexpensive pot I liked. All the ones I found in town just never caught my eye. One day I suddenly got the idea of re-purposing this old, metal coffee can we had sitting around the barn. I was enthusiastic about how it turned out and how easy it was to make!

Tutorial


Materials:

 

DIY Pot Primer

Step 1: Sand down the rust and clean it of any dirt. Then, spray the can with primer twice, sanding in between coats.

Step 2: Drill holes in the bottom of the can (amount depends on the type of plant, I drilled three holes.) Or if you’re using a hammer and nail, simply hammer the nails in the bottom of the can then remove the nails.

Gold Metallic Painted Can

Step 3: It took about four (very thin) layers to thoroughly paint the can. (For a smoother finish, lightly sand in between coats of paint.)

 

DIY Gold Pot

 

 

The result was a beautiful, unique pot; deep enough for my Aloe plant and narrow enough to not take up much room. I’m so happy with this paint; it has a true metallic shine. I can’t wait to use it on more projects in the future!

 

I hope this little DIY was helpful. Please feel free to ask me if you have any questions!

 

♥~Raindoodlie

Leave a Reply

