October Entry | Vlog

Autumn Leaves

The other day I managed to walk around our land, take some photos and do some filming outside. The weather has cooled down and the world around me is transitioning, preparing for the winter. It’s such a beautiful time of year. The trees drop their leaves which carpet the ground in a vibrant array of color; the wind in the trees changes to a haunting, yet calming tune. It’s like the world is saying goodnight. I find fall both a bit melancholy and somehow calming.

 

I love photography but photos still do not always fully capture the feeling and sounds of an environment. So I made this little film to share with you some of the sights and sounds of our little farm in Ohio!

Music: RUNNING WATERS by Jason Shaw

 

Corn.jpg

 

 

The corn is golden and ready for harvest. The wind blowing through the corn makes me think of the old Irish Rovers song, The Wind That Shakes the Corn. A classic song from one of my favorite bands!

 

 

Mr-Darcy-October-sitting.jpg

Mr Darcy is also thrilled with the cooler weather. He loves to play in the leaves and cuddle on the particularly chilly days.  He is also already getting his winter coat, therefore, becoming even fluffier!

sunset-cow

We don’t have any cows at the moment so sometimes, if I can walk out to the field, I say hi to the neighbor cows. They’re such cuties and are very friendly!

golden-rod

Goldenrod has always been on of my favorite wildflowers. I remember when I was young, I did a project for school. We cut a goldenrod and put it in a jar, then after a while all the bugs that were in it would come out. I remember being so surprised at how many bugs had been in the flower, most hidden from view until the flower was put in the jar. We set the bugs free and unharmed afterwards. It amazing to think of how one plant can provide for so many insects.Whenever I see these beautiful little flowers I picture then as a little city for dozens of bugs that I know are on them.

october-sunset

The sun set in a soft golden glow as the crickets played their song. When I see the beauty of God’s creation I am reminded of some verses from Job 12…

“But now ask the beasts, and they will teach you;
And the birds of the air, and they will tell you;
Or speak to the earth, and it will teach you;
And the fish of the sea will explain to you.
Who among all these does not know
That the hand of the Lord has done this,
In whose hand is the life of every living thing,
And the breath of all mankind?”
Job 12:7-10

I hope you all are having a lovely October so far!
What is your favorite part of fall?

♥~Raindoodlie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

