Thrift Haul | Vlog | 2/22/2017

My latest thrift finds.


 

Thrift clothes are not only a good option for those who want to save some money but it’s also a way to help the environment. There are 80 billion pieces of clothing purchased worldwide each year, up 400% from two decades ago. So before buying new, try your local or online thrift store and help some clothing live on. You may be surprised of what you can find and how much money it will save you as well!

 


 

Thoughts.thrift-grunge-denim-shirt

This grunge denim shirt has been one I’ve been looking for. I love how distressed this it is. Like the other shirts I found, it’s a long, loose style on me and it will fit into my minimalist closet well. I look forward to styling this with some minimal-grunge looks soon.

 

 

thrift-wrangler-shirt
Wrangler [L] Western Shirt $2.50 – SALVATION ARMY

The first thing I noticed about this shirt was the design on the fabric and the color combination. The black would go with the many black clothes I own and I love anything in lighter shades of blue. I was worried the back would have some sort of glam or fancy stitching, as western shirts often do. But, happily, it did not. Instead it has this neat, simple flap fastened with a button.

I think this would be a unique addition to my closet that has that Native American style print, that I love, without being too western.

 

 

thrift-teal-shirt
Northwest Territory [LG] Teal Shirt $1.50 – SALVATION ARMY

This shirt is such a beautiful shade of teal! It reminds me of the sea, perhaps on a rainy day. I don’t know what I’ll wear this with yet but the color makes me happy and the style is versatile.

 

 

thrift-light-denim-shirt
River Trader [M] Light Denim Shirt $1.50 – SALVATION ARMY

It was the light blue that caught my eye. This one is more dressy and less grunge than the other distressed shirt I found. I haven’t decided whether to leave it the way it is or change it up by dyeing it. For now, it will work well for minimal looks to tomboy styles.

 

 

thrift-eddie-bauer-red-plai
Eddie Bauer [TL] Red Plaid Shirt/Jacket $4.29 – GOODWILL

I’ve had a shirt very similar to this for awhile now and I love it; I wear it all the time. So, when I saw this, I knew it was a good choice.

This shirt is more like a jacket. It’s lined and of a better quality fabric than my other shirt. It’s also a TL which is amazing because even men’s clothing, many times, is still not long enough on me. The XL are just wider, not necessarily longer. This one has a nice loose fit that is perfectly long on me.

I think it will work well as both a warm shirt and a jacket! I expect to get a lot of use out of it.

 

thrift-80s-sweater
Michael Gerald [L] 80’s Style Sweater $4.29 – GOODWILL
I am so excited about this piece. I have wanted an “ugly” 80’s style sweater for quite a while now. The ones in thrift stores had always had wool in them (something I can’t wear.) I’d seen them on Etsy and such but the prices were too high for me so I resisted buying them and held out, hoping I would eventually find one. And the wait was worth it! I finally found a cute wool-less sweater in the colors I like that also fit me and I can’t wait to wear it.

I did the same thing with the vintage denim jacket that I had looked for and instead of spending the money to get it when I wanted it I waited it out. After awhile, sure enough, I found not one, but two perfect jackets for just a couple bucks. I didn’t just sit and wait though. I prayed I would find it inexpensive if it was God’s will that I do. Pray for a vintage jacket or an 80s sweater? Why not. If He gives it to me I will praise Him and it will make me happy. But if I don’t find it then I will know that He didn’t think I needed it and be content in what He gives me. Sometimes I think “that’s dumb, why should I pray about that? God doesn’t want to hear me ask for a sweater.” But then I am always reminded of this verse.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God.
Philippians 4:6

 

thrift-batman-t-shirt
Batman T-Shirt [L?] $2.49 – GOODWILL
And lastly this adorable “Live every day like you’re Batman” T-shirt. It’s such a fun, geeky shirt that makes me smile and reminds me to be brave and face my fears just like Bruce Wayne did! ^_~

 

 

 

All in all I spent $6.97 in Salvation Army (50% off day) and $11.84 in Goodwill. It was hard to shop and it drained a lot of my energy but at least the day was worth it!

I hope you enjoyed this post and video of my little thrift haul. Thank you for reading!

What is your latest thrift find?

 

β™₯~Raindoodlie

3 Fall Outfits | Back to SchoolΒ Fashion
Summer Florals
Vintage Christmas Dress |Β Vlog

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

